Land Trust Interviewed about Green Corridor Initative



Local Legislators Celebrate Conservation Success in Weston

The Aspetuck Land Trust unveils a new sign for its Honey Hill Preserve in Weston-Wilton calling attention to the 38-acre Belknap property purchase which increased the preserve to 119-acres. Financial support came from the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, Audubon Connecticut’s ILF Program, the William C. Bullitt Foundation and Aspetuck Land Trust member supporters.  From left in picture above are: State Rep. Jonathan Steinberg (D-136 District - Westport),  State Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey (D-133 District - Fairfield), Dave Brant, executive director of the Aspetuck Land Trust, State Rep. Laura Devlin (D-134 District – Fairfield), State Rep. Joseph Gresko (D-121 District - Stratford), State Rep. Ann Hughes (D-135 District Easton, Redding, Weston), State Sen. Will Haskell (D-26 District - Bethel, New Canaan, Redding, Ridgefield, Weston, Westport, Wilton) and First Selectman Christopher Spaulding (D-Weston).




Join us, pick the fruit, enjoy the peace of the orchard. It is a wonderful family activity.

Hundreds of hours of labor by staff and volunteers who have been pruning, fertilizing, and planting new bushes to replace past losses. This year’s crop reflects those efforts and has been bountiful to say the least. The time is now to pick some berries; peak production is probably the second and third weeks in July with many varieties extending the season into August. Early morning and late afternoon are great times to hike in. Park on Freeborn Road and the shade of the trees will cool you on your trek. Once in the patch check out the berry bushes near the woods. Those bushes are just beginning to ripen and are shaded in late afternoon.



Founded in 1966, Aspetuck Land Trust is a non-profit membership organization whose mission is the preservation and conservation of open space, including farm and forest land, and the natural resources located thereon, primarily in the towns of Easton, Weston, Fairfield and Westport, for the benefit and education of the public.